Cover of The Girl from the Workhouse

The Girl from the Workhouse

‘an emotional, captivating read which is perfect for anyone who loves a good saga!Over The Rainbow Book Blog

Even in the darkest of times, she never gave up hope

Staffordshire, 1911. Ginnie Jones’s childhood is spent in the shadow of the famous Potteries, living with her mother, father and older sister Mabel. But with Father’s eyesight failing, money is in short supply, and too often the family find their bellies aching with hunger. With no hope in sight, Ginnie is sent to Haddon Workhouse.

Separated from everything she has known, Ginnie has to grow up fast, earning her keep by looking after the other children with no families of their own. When she meets Clara and Sam, she hopes that she has made friends for life… until tragedy strikes, snatching away her newfound happiness.

Leaving Haddon three years later, Ginnie finds work as a mouldrunner at the Potteries, but never stops thinking about her friends in the workhouse – especially Sam, now a caring, handsome young man. When Sam and Ginnie are reunited, their bond is as strong as ever – until Sam is sent to fight in WW1. Faced with uncertainty, can Ginnie find the joy that she’s never had? Or will her heart be broken once again?

An emotional, uplifting and nostalgic family saga that will make you smile, while tugging on your heart-strings. Fans of Sheila Newberry Kitty Neale and Sheila Riley will love this beautiful read.

Readers are loving The Girl from the Workhouse:

‘A poignant, emotional and heart-wrenching read…best read with a box of tissues handy’ Bookish Jottings

‘This truly was a fabulous story from beginning to end and I struggled to put it down!... richly detailed, beautifully written and the storyline along with the characters was enthralling’ Rose is Reading

heartbreaking, emotive and well researched…This is an easy,enjoyable and informative read, recommended for lovers of historical fiction.’ Waggy Tales

I highly recommend reading this and being transported back in time. An excellent historical fiction that had me compulsively turning the pages.’ Books and Bookends

Overall, I loved it. There were lots of moments that made me gasp and others that almost made me cry, and then there were those that made me smile and sigh.’ Jess Bookish Life

heartwarming and emotional. I absolutely love the story line…I really enjoyed the setting and the characters. If you enjoy historical fiction, this is definitely a book to read!’ Jessica Belmont Book Reviews

I’m quite astonished this is a debut novel… The characters came alive on the page, and it’s a fully rounded story… A fabulous readGrace J Reviewerlady

‘an emotional, captivating read which is perfect for anyone who loves a good saga!... a fantastic read that quickly drew me into the story and kept my interest throughout with its fabulous plot.’ Over The Rainbow Book Blog

Ginnie is a likeable character from the off… I cried at some of the heartache she saw, and was so pleased with every small moment of happiness. You won’t be able to put this one down.’ Jennifer C Wilson

‘the author winds her story around your person and snares your heart… Though filled with much darkness and despair, there is also hope and loveInsatiable Readers

Johnson has a Cookson flair…she does capture the heart and soul of her characters.’ Cheryl M-M Book Reviews

‘a step back in time with a young protagonist who pulled on my heart strings…The friendship between her and Sam was especially heartwarming. I really enjoyed my first introduction to this author’ By The Letter Book Reviews

Where to Buy

Ebook

ISBN: 9781912973408

Publication Date:

Paperback

ISBN: 9781800321540

Publication Date:

Share this book